Story: Nation and government

From colony to dominion, 1907 (1st of 2)

From colony to dominion, 1907

Although the settlers enjoyed self-government from the 1850s, New Zealand remained officially a British colony. In 1907 its status was changed from colony to dominion. Dominion status was proclaimed with a flourish. In this photograph the proclamation is being read on the steps of Parliament. But it was a symbolic gesture indicating the young nation’s growing self-confidence rather than a significant change in the way it was governed.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, The Press (Christchurch) Collection (PAColl-3031)
Reference: 1/1-008650; G

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Wilson, 'Nation and government - From colony to nation', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 April 2024)

Story by John Wilson, updated 1 Sep 2016