Story: Public transport

Wellington’s first trolleybus (1st of 2)

Wellington’s first trolleybus

Wellington’s first electric trolleybus, run by the Wellington City Council, stands outside the Kaiwharawhara Post Office in 1924. The first trolley line ran from Thorndon to Kaiwharawhara until 1932 when it closed. Trolleybuses were also introduced in Auckland, New Plymouth, Christchurch and Dunedin.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Sydney Charles Smith Collection (PA-Group-00242)
Reference: 1/2-045571; G
Photograph by Sydney Charles Smith

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Adrian Humphris, 'Public transport - Buses', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 3 March 2024)

Story by Adrian Humphris, published 11 Mar 2010, reviewed & revised 11 Mar 2016