Story: History of immigration

Labour Cabinet, 1935

Labour Cabinet, 1935

In the early years of the 20th century there was a major migration of Australians, as New Zealand’s recovery coincided with drought in Australia. Unionists and socialists were among those who came, and the Labour government, which took the reins in New Zealand in 1935, included no less than five Australians who had arrived in this period. They included Prime Minister Michael Joseph Savage (in the front row), and Robert Semple (back row, third from left), William Parry (fourth from left), Mark Fagan (fifth from left), and Paddy Webb (far right).

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/1-018443; F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'History of immigration - Migration: 1900 to 1914', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 July 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Aug 2015