Story: National parks

Tongariro National Park mountains

Tongariro National Park mountains

In 1887, Ngāti Tūwharetoa chief Horonuku Te Heuheu signed a deed with the Crown to safeguard the peaks of Tongariro (foreground), Ngāuruhoe (middle), and Ruapehu (back). He wanted these central North Island volcanoes included in a national park, to prevent them from being divided and sold. Tongariro National Park, the country’s first, was established in 1894.

Using this item

GNS Science
Reference: CN5312/14
Photograph by Lloyd Homer

Permission of GNS Science must be obtained before any use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'National parks - National parks – the beginnings', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 16 April 2024)

Story by Nancy Swarbrick, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Aug 2015