Story: Mountains

Highest peaks of the Southern Alps

Highest peaks of the Southern Alps

This view, looking south-west from the summit of Elie de Beaumont, shows some of the major peaks that cluster around Aoraki/Mt Cook in the central Southern Alps. With the single exception of Mt Aspiring (140 kilometres south of Aoraki/Mt Cook) all of New Zealand’s 23 named peaks above 3,000 metres are close to a 40-kilometre section of the main divide (the boundary between the Aoraki/Mt Cook and Westland national parks). The 23 highest mountains are (in metres):

Aoraki/Mt Cook 3,724
Mt Tasman 3,497
Mt Dampier 3,440
Mt Vancouver 3,300
Silberhorn 3,300
Mt Hicks 3,218
Mt Graham 3,203
Lendenfeldt Peak 3,201
Malte Brun 3,198
Torres Peak 3,163
Mt Teichelman 3,160
Mt Sefton 3,151
Mt Haast 3,114
Elie de Beaumont 3,109
La Perouse 3,078
Douglas Peak 3,077
Mt Haidinger 3,066
Mt Magellan 3,065
Malaspina 3,050
Minarets 3,040
Mt Aspiring 3,033
Mt Dixon 3,019
Glacier Peak 3,007

Using this item

Private collection
Photograph by Christina Troup

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Andy Dennis, 'Mountains - South Island mountains', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 August 2020)

Story by Andy Dennis, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 2 Feb 2017