Story: Mountains

Mountainous areas of New Zealand

Most of the alpine areas of New Zealand are in the South Island. A chain of mountains begins in north-west Nelson and the Kaikōura ranges, extends into the Southern Alps, which have the highest peaks, and reaches the Fiordland area in the south-west. Click to see some of the major peaks.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Andy Dennis, 'Mountains - South Island mountains', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 January 2022)

Story by Andy Dennis, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Feb 2017