Story: Coins and banknotes

First series of banknotes: £5 (3rd of 4)

First series of banknotes: £5

The first-series £5 banknote is blue-green. The carvings on the sides are based on the memorial tomb of an unknown Māori chief from the Te Kūiti area. The kōwhaiwhai pattern is called Māui and was designed by Tāmati Ngākaho of Ngāti Porou. The hook-like spirals, which feature on Ngāti Porou waka (canoes) and buildings, represent discovery. The denomination is printed on each corner, and is written in numerals and words on the back.

Using this item

Reserve Bank of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Coins and banknotes - A national currency, 1930s to 1960s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 April 2024)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, published 20 Jun 2012