Story: Hauraki tribes

The Hauraki region

The Hauraki region

The Hauraki region is dominated by the Marutūahu confederation of tribes. However, Hauraki is also the home of a number of other tribes, including Ngāti Hako, Ngāti Hei, Ngāi Tai, Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Pūkenga, Ngāti Rahiri and Te Patukirikiri.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Te Ahukaramū Charles Royal, 'Hauraki tribes - The first tribes', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 July 2022)

Story by Te Ahukaramū Charles Royal, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 3 Mar 2017