Story: Bay of Plenty region

Canoe landing places

Canoe landing places

The five canoes most closely associated with the Bay of Plenty are Mataatua, Nukutere, Te Arawa, Tainui and Tākitimu. They landed at various places along the coast after their voyages from Hawaiki. In addition, many localities are associated with particular canoes and are often referred to in song and speech by descendants of the first voyagers. These places include:

  • Tihirau, Whakatāne, Te Mānuka Tutahi and Ngā Kurī a Whārei (Mataatua)
  • Te Rangi, Te Kotukutuku/Ōpape (Nukutere)
  • Whangaparāoa, Maketū, Te katikati-a-Tametekapua (Te Arawa)
  • Whangaparāoa, Tōrere (Tainui)
  • Mauao (Tākitimu).
Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Bay of Plenty region - Māori traditions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 July 2024)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 Aug 2016