Story: Ngā māngai – Māori representation

Kirihipi deeds, 1893 (2nd of 2)

Kirihipi deeds, 1893

In the early 1890s the Kotahitanga movement aimed to create a national Māori parliament. Kotahitanga organisers gathered signatures throughout the country from supporters of their movement. These signatures were collected on a set of special documents called the Kirihipi (sheepskin) Deeds, which were divided into six geographical regions based on major tribal groupings. This map shows the boundaries of the Kirihipi Deeds. By contrast, the boundaries of the four Māori seats in the same period took little account of tribal regions.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Paremata Maori o Niu Tireni. Nohanga tuatahi. I tu ki te Waipatu, Hune 14, 1892. Ōtaki: Webbe & Co., Kai taa kai Whakaputa, 1892.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rawiri Taonui, 'Ngā māngai – Māori representation - Effect of Māori seats', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 August 2022)

Story by Rawiri Taonui, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 15 Jul 2016