Story: Ngā māngai – Māori representation

Māori electorates map (1st of 2)

Click on this series of maps to see how the Māori electorates have changed, in number and shape, over time. (Note that the maps show only the major changes.) In 1867, when most Māori men were given the vote, four separate Māori seats were created. By 2004 the number had grown to seven.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Elections New Zealand

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rawiri Taonui, 'Ngā māngai – Māori representation - Effect of Māori seats', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 August 2022)

Story by Rawiri Taonui, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 15 Jul 2016