Story: Kotahitanga – unity movements

Support for the Kotahitanga movement (1st of 2)

Support for the Kotahitanga movement

This map shows the boundaries of the North Island parchments that indicated support for the Kotahitanga movement of the 1890s. The deed was first signed in 1889 at two meetings at Waitangi and Ōrākei and were taken around New Zealand to be signed over the following years. By 1892 Pene Taui of Ngāpuhi and Hapakuku Moetara of Te Roroa and Ngāpuhi had gathered 20,934 signatures. By 1900 the number of signatures was claimed to be 39,000.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Paremata Maori o Niu Tireni. Nohanga tuatahi. I tu ki te Waipatu, Hune 14, 1892. Ōtaki: Weepu me ona Hoa (Webbe & Co.).

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'Kotahitanga – unity movements - Parliamentary unity movements, 1870 to 1900', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Basil Keane, published 20 Jun 2012