Story: Public health

Public health units

Public health units

Regional public health services are delivered by 12 public health units (PHUs), which are owned by district health boards. Non-governmental organisations also deliver some of these services. PHUs concentrate on major public-health services, such as tobacco control and health promotion. This map shows the boundaries of each PHU in 2011.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Public health - What is public health?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 1 December 2022)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 7 Jul 2019 with assistance from Richard Edwards