Story: Auckland region

Auckland local government, 1989–2010 (2nd of 2)

Auckland local government, 1989–2010

Between 1989 and 2010 Auckland was organised into four cities – North Shore, Waitākere, Auckland (which included islands in the Hauraki Gulf) and Manukau – and three districts – Rodney, Papakura and Franklin. An Auckland regional council had responsibilities across the entire area bar the southern part of Franklin District (which was within the Waikato region). Business leaders claimed that a single council would put an end to squabbles between councils and make more progress on issues common to the whole city, especially infrastructure and economic development. In 2010 the government mandated a single Auckland council, which came into existence after elections in October 2010. The southern part of Franklin became part of Waikato district.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Margaret McClure, 'Auckland region - Government, education and health', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 April 2024)

Story by Margaret McClure, updated 1 Aug 2016