Story: Hydroelectricity

Tongariro scheme (1st of 3)

Tongariro scheme

The Tongariro scheme, in the central North Island, was developed in the mid-20th century. It includes two powerhouses (one – Rangipō – is underground), six dams and ten tunnels, eight of which are shown here. Work on the scheme began in 1964 and ended in 1983. The huge area drawn on by the scheme included sites and urupā (cemetery) important to Ngāti Tūwharetoa, the Taupō region trout fishery, and rivers critical to local towns. Negotiation and discussion with those involved began before construction and continued during it.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John E. Martin, 'Hydroelectricity - National hydro system', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 April 2024)

Story by John E. Martin, published 11 Mar 2010