Story: Fires and fire services

Fire regions

Fire regions

In 2009 the New Zealand Fire Service was organised into eight regions. Within these, there were 346 urban fire districts served by a total of 440 stations. The Fire Service was headed by a chief executive who was also the national commander, and each fire region had a manager.

Courtesy of the New Zealand Fire Service

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Fires and fire services - Modern fire services', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 June 2024)

Story by Nancy Swarbrick, published 11 Mar 2010