Story: Northland region

Local government boundaries

Local government reorganisation in 1989 reduced the number of Northland’s local authorities. The whole region is covered by the Northland Regional Council, while there are three territorial authorities responsible for local administration – Far North, Kaipara and Whangarei district councils.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Northland region - Government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 April 2024)

Story by Claudia Orange, updated 1 May 2015