Story: Gender and sport

Halberg Awards winners, 1949–2016

These graphs show the Halberg Awards winners in three non-gender-specific categories – the supreme, team and coach awards – from 1949 to 2016. The awards began as the New Zealand Sportsmen of the Year in 1949. This was run by New Zealand Sportsman magazine until 1960, when the award ceased. Athlete Murray Halberg resurrected it in 1963 and the event was expanded to include other categories. It was renamed the Halberg Awards in 1980.

Between 1949 and 2016, 73% of the supreme award winners were men or men's teams and 27% women or women's teams. For the teams award, 70% of recipients were men's teams, 27% women's teams and 3% (one team – the New Zealand equestrians at the World Equestrian Championships of 1998) was mixed. 82% of coaching award winners have been men and 18% women. 

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Sally Shaw, 'Gender and sport - Funding and awards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 October 2021)

Story by Sally Shaw, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jun 2016