Story: Coat of arms

Civic coats of arms

New Zealand's cities had civic emblems which included some of the elements found in the national coat of arms. These four coats of arms represent Auckland (1), Wellington (2), Christchurch (3) and Dunedin (4), the country's four main centres.

Coats of arms courtesy of Auckland City; Wellington City Council; Christchurch City Council; Dunedin City Council.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Stephen Levine, 'Coat of arms - British and 1911 coats of arms', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 1 July 2022)

Story by Stephen Levine, published 20 Jun 2012