Story: Inheritance

Ancestral inheritance and Tītī (muttonbird) islands

Some Māori hold ancestral rights which allow them to gather muttonbirds from the 36 small islands that surround Rakiura (Stewart Island), which are called the Tītī (muttonbird) Islands. Eighteen of the Tītī Islands are referred to as the Beneficial Islands, and only certain families can harvest muttonbirds from them. The harvesting season runs from 1 April to 31 May each year.

Sources: Regulation 2, Titi (Muttonbird) Islands Regulations 1978 and Schedule 106, Ngai Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998.

See also: Muttonbirding

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ann Dupuis, 'Inheritance - Māori inheritance and succession', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 December 2023)

Story by Ann Dupuis, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 3 Oct 2018