Story: West Coast region

West Coast National Parks

The West Coast has more national parks than any other region. Two – Westland Tai Poutini and Paparoa – are entirely within the West Coast, and parts of Kahurangi, Arthur’s Pass and Mount Aspiring are also in the region. It also has the Victoria Forest Park and a large part of the Te Wāhipounamu – South West New Zealand World Heritage Area, which includes the whole of Westland Tai Poutini and Mount Aspiring national parks, and nearby conservation land.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Simon Nathan, 'West Coast region - Tourism and outdoor recreation', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Simon Nathan, updated 1 Sep 2016