Story: Volcanic Plateau region

Volcanic Plateau

The Volcanic Plateau region comprises Rotorua and Taupō districts. The plateau itself, the product of recent volcanic activity, extends beyond these two districts, as shown by the dashed line on the landforms layer of the map – but its most significant features lie within the region.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Volcanic Plateau region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 27 March 2023)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 May 2015