Story: Rivers

South Island river areas

Four main South Island regions have distinctive rivers: west of the main dividing range, Marlborough and Canterbury, Otago, and Southland. Move your mouse over the name of each river for an image.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

David Young, 'Rivers - Types of river', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 October 2021)

Story by David Young, published 24 Sep 2007