Story: Wellington region

Wellington region

Wellington is New Zealand’s smallest region. The western boundary follows the main ridge line of the Rimutaka and Tararua ranges, from Turakirae Head in the south to Arete peak in the north. The northern border travels west from Arete to just north of Ōtaki. The eastern and southern regional boundaries follow the coastline.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Chris Maclean, 'Wellington region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 November 2019)

Story by Chris Maclean, updated 1 Aug 2015