Story: History of immigration

Ethnic diversity of MPs

As immigration has transformed New Zealand society, it has also transformed Parliament, particularly since the first MMP election in 1996. In 2020, MPs of Chinese, Cook Islands Māori, Eritrean, Indian, Iranian, Korean, Maldivian, Mexican, Samoan, Sri Lankan, and Tongan descent were elected, including two people from refugee backgrounds. This graph shows the increasing number of Māori, Pacific Peoples and other non-Pākehā MPs in Parliament from 1996-2020.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Sources: Statistics New Zealand and New Zealand Parliament

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'History of immigration - Multi-cultural New Zealand: 1991 onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 April 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Aug 2015