Story: Colonial and provincial government

South Canterbury separation petition, 1867

South Canterbury separation petition, 1867

From 1862 it became harder to establish a new province, but the populations of outlying districts did not stop seeking self-government. Among the most persistent were the people of South Canterbury – the electoral districts of Timaru and Gladstone – who in this petition sought rural (shire) and town (municipal) councils. They won a partial victory later that year – the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works was set up and allocated 25% of the land revenue of Canterbury to spend on public works in its area.

Using this item

National Library of New Zealand
Reference: Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives, 1867, G-01, p. 8

Permission of the National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - War, debt and the provinces, 1863 to 1870', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 July 2024)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 6 Oct 2023