Story: Ngāti Apa

Treaty of Waitangi signatures

Treaty of Waitangi signatures

This facsimile of the Treaty of Waitangi shows, from top to bottom, the marks of three Ngāti Apa leaders, Te Hākeke, Taumaru, and Mohi Mahi. They signed the treaty in May 1840, at Tāwhirihoe on the Rangitīkei River.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Grant Huwyler, 'Ngāti Apa - Ngāti Apa identity', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 31 March 2023)

Story by Grant Huwyler, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2017