Story: Marine animals without backbones

Marine animals of New Zealand

Marine animals of New Zealand

New Zealand’s marine animals fall into 30 major taxonomic groups (phyla). The table lists these phyla by their common and scientific names, and gives the numbers of living and fossil animals known in each group. Only one of these phyla – Chordata – contains marine animals with backbones. About 90% of the animals in New Zealand’s seas are invertebrates.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Dennis Gordon and Maggy Wassilieff, 'Marine animals without backbones - Sponges and jellies', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 30 September 2023)

Story by Dennis Gordon and Maggy Wassilieff, published 12 Jun 2006