Kōrero: Marine animals without backbones

Marine animals of New Zealand

Marine animals of New Zealand

New Zealand’s marine animals fall into 30 major taxonomic groups (phyla). The table lists these phyla by their common and scientific names, and gives the numbers of living and fossil animals known in each group. Only one of these phyla – Chordata – contains marine animals with backbones. About 90% of the animals in New Zealand’s seas are invertebrates.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Dennis Gordon and Maggy Wassilieff, 'Marine animals without backbones - Sponges and jellies', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/5789/marine-animals-of-new-zealand (accessed 23 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Dennis Gordon and Maggy Wassilieff, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006