Story: Judicial system

Structure of New Zealand courts

This diagram shows the hierarchy of New Zealand courts. The Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court and Courts Martial Appeal Court are known as 'superior courts'. All the other courts are known as 'inferior courts', meaning they have more limited authority than the High Court.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Courts of New Zealand

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Philip A. Joseph and Thomas Joseph, 'Judicial system - Structure of the courts', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 June 2023)

Story by Philip A. Joseph and Thomas Joseph, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 11 Oct 2016