Story: Judicial system

Judges' attire: 1913 (1st of 3)

Judges' attire: 1913

This 1913 cartoon caricatures eight Supreme Court judges, who are all wearing the traditional gown and wig. They are (from left) F. R. Chapman, W. B. Edwards, J. S. Williams, Robert Stout, J. E. Denniston, T. Cooper and W. A. Sim. A. Cooper takes notes below the bench. The Supreme Court was renamed the High Court in 1980, to free the former name for a final court of appeal.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: C-034-006
Chromolithograph by Walter Armiger Bowring

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Philip A. Joseph and Thomas Joseph, 'Judicial system - Structure of the courts', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 June 2023)

Story by Philip A. Joseph and Thomas Joseph, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 11 Oct 2016