Story: Kīngitanga – the Māori King movement

Kīngitanga flags: Mahuta's flag (2nd of 3)

Kīngitanga flags: Mahuta's flag

Each successive Māori monarch has his or her own flag. The flag of the third Māori king bears his full name, Kīngi Mahuta Tāwhiao Pōtatau Te Wherowhero, which incorporates the names of his two predecessors. The seven stars represent Te Paki o Matariki (the Pleiades constellation), an important symbol for the Kīngitanga movement. The rainbow represents the god Uenuku and the waka is the Tainui, from which Mahuta and other Waikato Māori principally descend.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Reference: James Cowan, The Maori, yesterday and today. Christchurch: Whitcombe and Tombs, 1930, p. 85

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rahui Papa and Paul Meredith, 'Kīngitanga – the Māori King movement - Origins of the Kīngitanga', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 3 March 2024)

Story by Rahui Papa and Paul Meredith, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 2 Mar 2023