Story: He Whakaputanga – Declaration of Independence

Signing the Treaty of Waitangi

Signing the Treaty of Waitangi

In 1840 Te Tiriti o Waitangi was signed at Waitangi. Many of the signatories of He Whakaputanga also signed the treaty. The treaty acknowledged those who had signed the declaration as the chiefs of the Confederation of the United Tribes of New Zealand.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: C-033-007
Photolithograph by Marcus King

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'He Whakaputanga – Declaration of Independence - The aftermath of the declaration', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 July 2024)

Story by Basil Keane, published 20 Jun 2012