Story: Kapa Haka

National kapa haka results, 1972–2019

Nationwide kapa haka competitions have been held approximately every two years since 1972. This table shows the location and overall winner of each of these competitions. Historically, the two most successful teams have been Waihīrere and Te Waka Huia, with five wins each. Both owe much of their success to the dedication of Ngāpō (Bub) and Pimia (Nen) Wehi, who began performing with the Gisborne-based Waihīrere and later moved to Auckland to form Te Waka Huia. The 2021 Matatini event was postponed due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Te Matatini

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Valance Smith, 'Kapa Haka - Urban groups and formal competitions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 April 2024)

Story by Valance Smith, published 22 Oct 2014, reviewed & revised 9 Feb 2023