Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



New Zealand Women's Championship

(Cup presented by Mrs G. Murray Aynsley)
1913 Mrs J. W. Lill 1941 Mrs C. Watkins
1914 Miss L. Rutherford 1942–43 Not held
1915 Miss L. Rutherford 1944 Mrs C. Watkins
1920 Mrs E. A. Johnson 1945 Miss I. Wainwright
1921 Mrs E. A. Johnson 1946 Mrs G. McLeod
1922 Mrs E. A. Johnson 1947 Mrs C. Watkins
1923 Miss M. Hesketh 1948 Miss M. Claughton
1924 Mrs C. Watkins 1949 Miss M. Claughton
1925 Miss M. Hesketh 1950 Mrs W. H. Kirk
1926 Mrs C. Watkins 1951 Miss M. Claughton
1927 Mrs F. A. Tiffen 1952 Miss I. Wainwright
1928 Miss D. D. Steel (England) 1953 Miss I. Wainwright
1954 Mrs F. Duckworth
1929 Mrs M. Kibblewhite 1955 Mrs C. A. Watkins
1930 Mrs F. A. Tiffen 1956 Mrs N. E. Mitchell
1931 Mrs C. Watkins 1957 Mrs J. G. Middlemiss
1932 Mrs H. Kibblewhite 1958 Mrs B. A. Jarden
1933 Mrs W. E. Caldow 1959 Mrs B. A. Jarden
1934 Mrs W. E. Caldow 1960 Mrs C. T. Wadsworth
1935 Miss R. Skeet 1961 Mrs B. A. Jarden
1936 Mrs W. E. Caldow 1962 Mrs L. C. Middlemiss
1937 Mrs W. N. Corbet 1963 Mrs B. A. Jarden
1938 Mrs E. G. Anstis 1964 Mrs B. A. Jarden
1939 Mrs G. McLeod 1965 Mrs C. T. Wadsworth
1940 Mrs A. S. Clark