Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



New Zealand Open Championship

(Cup presented by J. W. Lill)
1913 K. H. Izard 1942–43 Not held
1914 K. H. Izard 1944 Lieutenant-Colonel W. S. Beamish
1915 H. J. Williams W. S. Beamish
1920 Dr Edgar Whitaker 1945 C. La Roche
1921 R. Caughley 1946 A. D. Heenan
1922 A. G. F. Ross 1947 C. La Roche
1923 H. P. Stratton 1948 A. D. Heenan
1924 A. G. F. Ross 1949 A. G. F. Ross
1925 A. G. F. Ross 1950 A. G. F. Ross
1926 A. G. F. Ross 1951 J. W. Solomon (England)
1927 A. G. F. Ross
1928 Colonel Du Pre (England) 1952 Mrs C. Watkins
1953 A. G. F. Ross
1929 A. G. F. Ross 1954 C. A. Watkins
1930 Mrs A. Jarvie 1955 Mrs H. H. O'Connell
1931 H. J. Williams 1956 G. D. Rowling
1932 A. G. F. Ross 1957 F. C. Bryan
1933 H. P. Stratton 1958 A. D. Heenan
1934 Captain F. L. Hartnell 1959 A. D. Heenan
1935 Colonel Du Pre (England) 1960 A. Stephens
1961 Mrs H. Purdy
1936 A. J. Gibbs 1962 H. C. Ford
1937 A. J. Gibbs 1963 J. W. Solomon (England)
1938 Mrs C. Watkins
1939 A. G. F. Ross 1964 A. Heenan
1940 Mrs C. Watkins 1965 G. Rowling
1941 Mrs C. Watkins