Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Winners of Principal Events New Zealand Men's Championship

(Captain F. L. Hartnell Memorial Cup)
1934 A. G. F. Ross 1950 C. A. Watkins
1935 Colonel Du Pre (England) 1951 A. D. Heenan
1952 A. G. F. Ross
1936 H. P. Stratton 1953 A. G. F. Ross
1937 A. G. F. Ross 1954 C. A. Watkins
1938 C. La Roche 1955 G. D. Rowling
1939 H. A. Penn 1956 G. D. Rowling
1940 F. C. Bryan 1957 H. C. Ford
1941 F. C. Bryan 1958 A. D. Heenan
1942–43 Not held 1959 A. D. Heenan
1944 C. La Roche 1960 A. Stephens
1945 F. C. Bryan 1961 J. Tucker
1946 A. D. Heenan 1962 L. C. Middlemiss
1947 C. La Roche 1963 J. Prince
1948 A. G. F. Ross 1964 J. Prince
1949 A. G. F. Ross 1965 G. Rowling