Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Theological Colleges

There are three theological colleges (St. John's College, Auckland; Christchurch College, Christchurch; and Selwyn College, Dunedin), the latter two taking students of other faculties as well. Many of the students take arts and other degrees of the New Zealand universities before sitting for the Licentiate of Theology under examinations conducted by the Board of Theological Studies which was constituted by General Synod. These latter examinations are also open to laymen and extra-mural students. Some candidates for the ministry take degree and theological courses outside New Zealand.