Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Hay's Art Competitions

The Hay's Art Competition, 1960, offered three prizes (£300, 150, and 50) for the best paintings submitted. The prizes were donated by Hay's Ltd. of Christchurch. The judges, Messrs Russell Clark (q. v.). Peter Tomory, and John Simpson bracketed the winners, and equal awards were made to Colin McCahon, Julian Royds, and Francis L. Jones.

Main prizes in the second Hay's Art Competition, 1962, were, oil painting, first (£250), Peter McIntyre; second (£100), Joan Macarthur; watercolour, first (£100), Stewart Maclennan; second (£50), Astrid Stevens; sculpture (£50), Innes L. Elliott; Sir Daryl Lindsay, Australia, was the sole judge.

In 1963 first prize (oils), T. A. Field; second, Mary Darwin. First in watercolours was P. F. Noonan, with C. V. Wheeler second. The judge was G. Thomson, Australia. No competition was held in 1964.