Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Kelliher Art Prize

Awards have been made as follows:

1956, prize (£500), Leonard C. Mitchell; Judges–Mrs A. Pearse (Dunedin), E. Buckmaster (Australia), and P. Tomory (Auckland).

1957, first prize £500, Arthur C. Hipwell; second, Douglas Badcock; third, Peter McIntyre; Judges–Robert Johnson (Australia), S. B. Maclennan (Wellington).

1958, first, Leonard C. Mitchell; second, George Packwood; Judge–Napier Waller (Australia).

1959, first, Peter McIntyre;second, Douglas Badcock; third, Paul Olds; Judge–William Dargie (Australia).

1960, first, Owen R. Lee; second, David J. Barker; third, Peter McIntyre; Judge–Rubery Bennett (Australia).

1961, first, Cedric Savage; second, Don Neilson; third, Peter McIntyre. Junior prize (£100), David Barker; Judge–William Dargie (Australia).

1962, first, Austen A. Deans; second, Emerson Porter; third, Douglas Badcock. Junior prize, Derek Ball and John Fijn (equal). Judge–Douglass Pratt (Australia).

1963, first, Austen A. Deans; second. Peggy Spicer; third. Peter Mclntyre. Junior prize, J. P. Horner. Judge–John Loxton (Australia).

1964, no competition.