Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



National Bank of New Zealand Art Awards

In 1958 the National Bank of New Zealand sponsored a competition for a design for a mural to be executed for one of the Bank's branch offices. This was won by Thomas A. Coomber; Judges–C. R. H. Taylor, R. C. Muston, S. B. Maclennan.

A second competition in 1960 included, with the mural award (increased to £500), a prize for a watercolour of a New Zealand landscape. Mural, Leonard C. Mitchell; watercolour, first, Peter McIntyre; second, David Barker; third, Austen A. Deans; Judges–F. V. Ellis, Nugent Welch, R. C. Muston.

Winners in the third competition, 1962, were, Mural, David Barker; watercolour, first, S. B. Maclennan; second, Robin Kay; third, Cyril Whiteoak; Judges–James Turkington, H. V. Miller, E. Mervyn Taylor, and R. C. Muston.

Winners in the fourth competition, 1963, were, Mural, Susan Chaytor; Watercolour, first, S. B. Maclennan;second Juliet Peter; third, W.M. Barraud. Judges–Vernon Brown, R. C. Muston, E. Mervyn Taylor and Colin V. Wheeler.

Winners for 1964 Competition were, Mural, Colin Wheeler, merit awards (£25) to Celina Ballantyne, David Barker, Mavis Cullen, Susan Chaytor; watercolour (£100 prize), Avis Higgs; second, Peter McIntyre; third, Colin Wheeler. Judges–R. C. Muston. A. A. Deans, S.B. Maclennan.

For 1965 the prize for the Mural Section stands at £500, and the judges may make up three special awards to the total value of £150. In the Watercolour Section the prizes have been increased to £200 (£100) first prize, £100 (£60) second prize, and £50 (£40) third prize. Winners for 1965 Competition were, Mural, Rodger Harrison; watercolour, first, Eric Lee-Johnson, second, Peter McIntyre, third, George Packwood. Judges–R. C. Muston, H. V. Miller, and S. B. Maclennan.