Story: Colonial and provincial government

South Island counties, 1881 (2nd of 2)

In 1876 counties replaced provincial government in rural areas. In 1921 the South Island comprised 52 counties, compared with 31 in 1876, with most of the increase taking place in Canterbury, where eight counties had become 26.

Using this item

Auckland City Libraries - Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero, Sir George Grey Special Collections
Reference: NZ Map 189

Permission of Auckland City Libraries Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - Julius Vogel and the abolition of provincial government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 May 2022)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, published 20 Jun 2012