Story: Kotahitanga – unity movements

Original Declaration of Independence

This is the original copy of the New Zealand Declaration of Independence and is entitled, 'He w[h]akaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni.' It was signed at Waitangi on 28 October 1835. Under the declaration the United Tribes of New Zealand (te whakaminenga o ngā hapū o Nu Tireni) declared an independent state (he Whenua Rangatira). Plans for an annual congress were made in the declaration but did not come to pass. Signatories to the declaration mainly consisted of northern chiefs, but later Te Hapuku from Ngāti Kahungunu and Te Wherowhero of Waikato signed the declaration.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'Kotahitanga – unity movements - The first Kotahitanga movements, 1834 to 1840', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 July 2024)

Story by Basil Keane, published 20 Jun 2012