Story: Māori prophetic movements – ngā poropiti

Seven rules of Jehovah

Te Hāhi o te Ruri Tuawhitu o Ihowa (the church of the seven rules of Jehovah) was formed by Haimona Pātete in the 1890s. This interactive includes records of the church.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Church of the Seven Rules of Jehovah Records
Reference: MSX-3903

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Judith Binney, 'Māori prophetic movements – ngā poropiti - Other 20th-century prophets', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 May 2022)

Story by Judith Binney, published 5 May 2011