Story: Research institutions

Restructuring of research institutions

Restructuring of research institutions

This chart shows the reorganisation of New Zealand's government scientific research effort in the early 1990s. Research policy was removed from the three former departments of agriculture, forestry, and scientific and industrial research, and placed into a Ministry of Research, Science and Technology. A Foundation for Research, Science and Technology was set up to oversee the granting of contestable funds for research. The actual research was carried out by 10 new Crown research institutes, whose members were predominantly drawn from the former Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) and the two other departments. This was not the end of the changes, because by 2014 the original 10 Crown research institutes had been reduced to seven. The logos of these seven can be seen at bottom right.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Logos courtesy of Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Simon Nathan, 'Research institutions - Developing research organisations', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 February 2024)

Story by Simon Nathan, published 22 Oct 2014