Story: Royal honours system

Honouring the Māori queen

When the Order of New Zealand was established in 1987 the Māori queen, Te Arikinui Dame Atairangikaahu, was one of the group of 10 people who were made members. Te Karere, a Māori-language news programme, reported on the honour.

Using this item

TVNZ Television New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mandy Wong, 'Royal honours system - Bestowing honours', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 July 2024)

Story by Mandy Wong, published 20 Jun 2012