Story: Place names

Name change in the South Island

Agreement between the Crown and Ngāi Tahu in 1997 included official recognition for Māori names. In many instances they were paired with current names, thus Mt Aspiring/Tītītea, the Moeraki Boulders/Kahinaki, and Aoraki/Mt Cook for the country’s highest mountain.

Using this item

TVNZ Television New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Place names - Māori and Pākehā names', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 April 2024)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, published 24 Nov 2008