Story: Poetry

National poetry award winners, 1976–2022

This table lists the books of poems that have won the pre-eminent national award for poetry since 1976, and their authors. Until 1996 there were two sets of awards – the Wattie (later the Goodman Fielder Wattie) Awards, which had no categories and simply awarded prizes for the top three books of the year, and the New Zealand Book Awards, which had a poetry category. In 1994 the Goodman Fielder Wattie Awards became the Montana Book Awards and a poetry category was introduced; so in 1994 and 1995 there were two sets of poetry awards. In 1996 the two awards merged as the Montana New Zealand Book Awards, which became the New Zealand Post Book Awards from 2010 to 2014. A new sponsor, property developer Ockham, was announced in 2015, and 2016 was the first year of the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards. The recipients are a ‘Who’s Who’ of the New Zealand poets who have had a major impact since 1976.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Reference: Roger Robinson and Nelson Wattie (eds), Oxford companion to New Zealand literature. Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 2001, pp.603-605; New Zealand Book Council; New Zealand Post Book Awards

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Newton, 'Poetry - Diversity: since 1985', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 June 2024)

Story by John Newton, published 22 Oct 2014