Story: Publishing

Major book award winners

This table lists the major book award winners in New Zealand since 1968, the year the Wattie Book Awards (later the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards) began. They simply gave first, second and third prizes across all types of writing. From 1976, alongside these awards, the New Zealand Book Awards provided prizes for different classes: fiction, non-fiction, poetry and sometimes book production. In 1994 and 1995 Montana took over as the sponsor of the Goodman Fielder Wattie awards. Then in 1996 the two awards came together as the Montana New Zealand Book Awards, with a range of categories. From 1997 to 2009 there were two supreme awards, the Deutz medal for fiction and the Montana medal for non-fiction. Between 2010 and 2014 New Zealand Post was the named sponsor. A number of separate categories remained, but there was one New Zealand Post Book of the Year. Property developer Ockham has sponsored the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards since 2016. 

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source Booksellers New Zealand

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Elizabeth Caffin, 'Publishing - Big and small, home and away, 1965 to 1980', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 July 2022)

Story by Elizabeth Caffin, published 22 Oct 2014