Story: Protected areas

New Zealand’s national parks at 11 May 2019

At 11 May 2019 New Zealand had 13 national parks, covering 2,947,318 hectares – around 11% of the country. This table shows the date each park was established by statute, and its area.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Department of Conservation

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Les Molloy, 'Protected areas - National parks', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 23 June 2024)

Story by Les Molloy, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Sep 2015